Contributors© Copyright Invest Barbados 2017. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or any means, or stored in any retrieval system of any nature without prior written permission of the copyright holder. The views expressed in this magazine are those of the contributors, and not necessarily those of Invest Barbados. The information provided in this magazine is meant as a guide only and does not amount to professional advice.Barbados International Finance & Business 2017 Edition Published by Invest Barbados Barbados: (246) 626-2000, Toronto: (416) 214-9919, New York: (212) 551-4375. Email: bifb@investbarbados.org | www.investbarbados.orgTechnical Review: Ben Arrindell Editorial Committee: James Gardiner Caroline Gardiner Sandra Payne Wayne Kirton Jannettte Babb Authors:Sandra PayneInvest Barbadosspayne@investbarbados.orgLouisa Lewis-WardKPMGlouisaward@kpmg.bbLiza Harridyal-SodhaHarridyal-Sodha & Associatesliza@lizalaw.comGloria EduardoPricewaterhouseCoopersgloria.eduardo@bb.pwc.comPeter DownesProfiles Caribbean, Inc pdownes@profilescaribbean.bb Karen PerreiraInter Caribbean Legalkperreira@intercaribbeanlegal.comSir Trevor CarmichaelChancery Chamberschancery@chancerychambers.comMark Linehan Regusmark.linehan@regus.comDominique PepinTailored Tax Solutionsdominique.pepin@tailoredltd.com Maria RobinsonErnst & Youngmaria.robinson@bb.ey.comDustin DelanyDelany Lawdd@delanylaw.comJohn McLeodForvest Groupj.mcleod@forvestgroup.com Randy GrahamFinancial Services Commissioninfo@fsc.gov.bbltaylor@fsc.gov.bb Paul JenkinsScotiabankpaul.jenkins@scotiabank.comJulia TaggartInnovate LSO Solutionsjtaggart@innovatelso.com Richard KennedyCIBC First Caribbean International Bankrichard.kennedy@cibcfcib.com Afzal MehdiAmerican University of Barbadosafzalmehdi@aubmed.orgGordon AndersonCidel Bank & Trustganderson@cidel.comRyle WeekesCidel Bank & Trustrweekes@cidel.comNicholas CrichlowMarsh Captive Solutionsnicholas.crichlow@marsh.comKevin ArmstrongRBC Wealth Managementkevin.armstrong@rbc.comElliot BarrowRBC Wealth Managementelliott.barrow@rbc.comGabriel AbedBitt.comgabriel@bitt.comOliver GaleBitt.comoliver@bitt.comAmanda LashleyCidel Bank & Trustalashley@cidel.comTony JenningsKM2 Solutionstony.jennings@km2solutions.comCaroline ProwDGM Financial Groupcprow@dgmgroup.comDesign, Layout & Printing:EVillages Ltd.Features50 Plus Years of International BusinessIt has become evident that, as the global economy continues to expand exponentially, greater opportunities are presented for the use of the international business corporation (IBC). Barbados: an Obvious Choice for Legal Outsourcing 23… Barbados’ greatest asset is its highly educated workforce. The island has a first-class education system that produces top quality university graduates every year. We draw upon this intellectual capital to provide highly competitive …New Era of Digital Currencies 33 The Bitcoin blockchain represents the world’s most secure, immutable and distributed database, and the applications of this technology are as far reaching as those of the internet itself.172017 BARBADOS INTERNATIONAL FINANCE & BUSINESS 7 6 BARBADOS INTERNATIONAL FINANCE & BUSINESS 2017
< Page 5 | Page 7 >